Van Persie wins PWA Player of the Year




By Alex Byrom
Deputy Football Editor



Robin Van Persie had been named PWA Player of the Year – as voted by the journalista of the game.

The Dutchman has scored 38 goals in all competitions this season, including 31 in the Premier League, as Arsenal recovered from a difficult start to the season, and a mid-season blip to get on the verge of achieving a place in the top 4.

It come just 2 days after being named 2011-12 player of the year.

Scott Parker won the award last year. 

Previous Winners (PFA Player of the Year):

2011 – Scott Parker

2010 – Wayne Rooney

2009 – Ryan Giggs

2008 – Cristiano Ronaldo



If they make up their minds that I'm the best player it is a big honour,” Van Persie said. "Of course I'd like to thank my teammates, who have provided me with the goals, and if it wasn't for their assists, I would not have scored all the goals like that [this mseason]. Without them I could not have achieved it,” he added. 

Van Persie is enjoying his most fruitful season since signing for Arsenal in 2004, helped largely by a fruitful switch into the centre-forward role.

"To be fair, when I first went there I wasn't really as confident and I wasn't really sure I could do it,” he added.

Make a Free Website with Yola.