Football League announce draw for 1st Round of Capital One Cup



By Alex Byrom
Deputy Football Editor



Last season’s Blue Square Bet Premier League winners Fleetwood Town will face off against 4 time winners Nottingham Forest in the Capital One Cup after the draw was made this morning.

The Cod Army will play in the Football League for the first time in their history after promotion last season.

Elsewhere Blackpool face Lancashire rivals Morecambe and there’s a Yorkshire derby between Doncaster and newly-promoted York City.

2010 winners Birmingham City face League Two strugglers Barnet and Oldham meet Sheffield Wednesday. Relegated Wolves will take on League Two side Aldershot at Molineux, whilst Barnsley boss Keith Hill will return to former club Rochdale.

Liverpool won the last ever Carling Cup last season – beating Cardiff City in the final at Wembley, after Carling’s sponsorship ran out, and Capital One will take over the sponsorship after agreeing a 3 year deal last month.

While the competition is set to begin in the week commencing 13 August, the Football League will consider requests to play on Saturday 11th or Sunday 12th August should clubs mutually agree instead of the opening League fixtures due to begin on this weekend. 



The full draw:

Derby County v Scunthorpe United

Rochdale v Barnsley

Port Vale v Burnley

Notts County v Bradford City

Hull City v Rotherham United

Fleetwood Town v Nottingham Forest

Carlisle United v Accrington Stanley

Doncaster Rovers v York City

Crewe Alexandra v Hartlepool United

Bury v Middlesbrough

Chesterfield v Tranmere Rovers

Sheffield United v Burton Albion

Blackpool v Morecambe

Leeds United v Shrewsbury Town

Preston North End v Huddersfield Town

Oldham Athletic v Sheffield Wednesday

Cheltenham Town v Milton Keynes Dons

Ipswich Town v Bristol Rovers

Stevenage v AFC Wimbledon

Exeter City v Crystal Palace

Yeovil Town v Colchester United

Birmingham City v Barnet

Bristol City v Gillingham

Northampton Town v Cardiff City

Plymouth Argyle v Portsmouth

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Aldershot Town

Walsall v Brentford

Millwall v Crawley Town

Torquay United v Leicester City

Dagenham & Redbridge v Coventry City

Peterborough United v Southend United

Swindon Town v Brighton & Hove Albion

Watford v Wycombe Wanderers

Charlton Athletic v Leyton Orient

Oxford United v AFC Bournemouth



Liverpool were last season's winners of the trophy after edging out Championship side Cardiff City in the Wembley final in February on penalties 


Make a Free Website with Yola.