UEFA confirm groups of officials for Euro 2012 summer tournament



By Adam Higgins
Chief Football Editor 



Pictured above: The twelve European referees selected to officiate in the tournament this summer at Euro 2012 

The twelve officiating groups that will travel to the Euro 2012 tournament in Poland & Ukraine in June have been confirmed, UEFA announced this week.

World Cup Final 2010 referee Howard Webb, of England, and Scotland's leading match official Craig Thomson are the British representatives. 40-year old Webb is the only selected referee who was also taken to the Euro 2008 tournament four years ago in Austria & Switzerland while Thomson, a regular contender for the Old Firm derby in the SPL, has received some high-profile Champions League appointments of late and was also appointed to the Europa League semi-final 1st leg between Atletico Madrid and Valencia last month.

The full list of officials are:

England-  Howard Webb (Referee), Mike Mullarkey & Peter Kirkup (Assistant Referees), Stephen Child (Reserve Assistant Referee), Martin Atkinson & Mark Clattenburg (Additional Assistant Referees)

Scotland-  Craig Thomson (Referee), Derek Rose & Alasdair Ross (Assistant Referees), Graham Chambers (Reserve Assistant Referee), Willie Collum & Euan Norris (Additional Assistant Referees)

France-  Stephane Lannoy (Referee), Eric Dansault & Frederic Cano (Assistant Referees), Michael Annonier (Reserve Assistant Referee), Fredy Fautral & Ruddy Buquet (Additional Assistant Referees)

Germany-  Wolfgang Stark (Referee), Jan-Hendrik Salver & Mike Pickel (Assistant Referees), Mark Borsch (Reserve Assistant Referee), Florian Meyer & Deniz Aytekin (Additional Assistant Referees)

Hungary-  Viktor Kassai (Referee), Gabor Eros & Gyorgy Ring (Assistant Referees), Robert Kispal (Reserve Assistant Referee), Istvan Vad & Tamas Bognar (Additional Assistant Referees)

Italy-  Nicola Rizzoli (Referee), Renato Faverani & Andrea Stefani (Assistant Referees), Luca Maggiani (Reserve Assistant Referee), Gianluca Rocchi & Paolo Tagliavento (Additional Assistant Referees)

Netherlands-  Bjorn Kuipers (Referee), Sander Van Roekel & Erwin Zeinstra (Assistant Referees), Norbertus Simons (Reserve Assistant Referee), Paulus Van Boekel & Richard Liesveld (Additional Assistant Referees)

Portugal-  Pedro Proenca (Referee), Bertino Cunha Miranda & Ricardo Jorge Santos (Assistant Referees), Jose Tiago Trigo (Reserve Assistant Referee), Manuel Jorge Neves & Moreira Da Sousa (Additional Assistant Referees)

Slovenia-  Damir Skomina (Referee), Primoz Arhar & Marko Stancin (Assistant Referees), Matej Zunic (Reserve Assistant Referee), Matej Jug & Slavko Vincic (Additional Assistant Referees)

Turkey-  Cuneyt Cakir (Referee), Bahattin Duran & Tarik Ongun (Assistant Referees), Mustafa Emre Eyisoy (Reserve Assistant Referee), Huseyin Gocek & Bulent Yildirim (Additional Assistant Referees)

Sweden-  Jonas Eriksson (Referee), Stefan Wittberg & Mathias Klasenius (Assistant Referees), Fredrik Nilsson (Reserve Assistant Referee), Markus Strombergsson & Stefan Johannesson (Additional Assistant Referees)

Spain-  Carlos Vellasco Carballo (Referee), Roberto Alonso Fernandez & Juan Carlos Yuste Jiminez (Assistant Referees), Jesus Calvo Guadamuro (Reserve Assistant Referee), David Fernandez Borbalan & Carlos Gomez (Additional Assistant Referees)


There are some officials who have been selected solely to partake in fourth official duties. These are:

Pavel Kralovec (Czech Republic)

Tom Harald Hagen (Norway)

Marcin Borski (Poland)

Viktor Shvetsov (Ukraine)


There are also several reserve assistant referees travelling as back up in case any injuries are picked up during the hectic schedule once the tournament begins. These are:

Damien McGrath (Republic of Ireland)

Marcin Borkowski (Poland)

Roman Slysko (Slovakia)

Oleksandr Voytyuk (Ukraine)


The twelve officials will be involved in a media day in the near future where the press will be able to ask all the necessary questions at a conference while UEFA's chief refereeing officer and former Italian referee Pierluigi Collina will give a comprehensive rundown of what is expected from the officials in order to produce top-class performances in the tournament in Poland & Ukraine- which begins on 8th June. The referee's will attend a preparatory workshop this weekend where priorities such as protecting the players and punishing any mobbing towards the referee will be outlined. A winter course in Antalaya, Turkey, was also held for prospective referees who may have been chosen where rigorous training processes while the match officials have attended 16 hours of lectures in Warsaw regarding fitness training and have also undergone a strict fitness test at the city's leading sports complex.

The groups have been monitored between January and May in terms of their performances while many have been working together on big domestic games in their own countries during this time in order to be well prepared for what are expected to be difficult circumstances in Poland & Ukraine.

Each of the 31 matches in the tournament will be assigned a referee, two assistant referees, a fourth official, two additional assistant referees and a reserve assistant referee. "One of the main goals is to protect players, and we have reminded the referees to deal with challenges that could potentially endanger the safety of a player," said Collina. "We don't want to have referees surrounded by protesting players. This does not give a good image, and yellow cards are to be expected. Nor do we want to see 20 players in a mass confrontation – yellow cards will be given to the initiators."

The referee teams will arrive in Warsaw on 4th June for the final tournament.

Referees have been chosen based on performances in UEFA's leading competitions over the past two years while their displays in their domestic leagues on a more regular basis have also been taken into account.


Make a Free Website with Yola.